Dieter Rams Ten Principles of Good Design

In September I started taking classes again after three years out of school. Currently I’m taking Historical Methods (online course) and Visual Literacy (evening class). I have four small paperback “textbooks” for my Historical Methods class that I’ve started reading in preparation for assignment one (more about that later), and so far there have been four Visual Literacy classes.

I’ll talk a little more about my Historical Methods class in a future post, but I really wanted to share a list we were given in the second Visual Literacy class because it really resonated with me. While the list is simple, it’s also insightful.

 

Dieter Rams Ten Principles of Good Design

1. Good design is Innovative.

2. Good design makes a product useful.

3. Good design is aesthetic.

4. Good design helps us to understand a product.

5. Good design is unobtrusive.

6. Good design is honest.

7. Good design is durable.

8. Good design is consequent to the last detail.

9. Good design is concerned with the environment.

10. Good design is as little as possible.

 

Visit one of my favourite architecture blogs to read a little bit more about Dieter Rams: http://www.lifeofanarchitect.com/who-is-dieter-rams/

While Wikipedia is not the most reliable source considering where the content originates from, you can still get a basic idea of the life of Dieter Rams here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieter_Rams

He seems like a fascinating person – definitely someone I can learn a lot from.

What do you think of Dieter Rams’ Ten Principles of Good Design? Do you think he makes valid points?

Leave a Reply

